The ABC comedy “Abbott Elementary” leads the nominations for the 28th Annual Critics Choice Awards, announced on Tuesday morning by the Critics Choice Association.  The Emmy-winning show nabbed six nominations overall, including best comedy series and acting nods for stars Quinta Brunson, Janelle James, Sheryl Lee Ralph, Chris Perfetti and Tyler James Williams. In the drama category, the final season of AMC’s “Better Call Saul” led with 5 nominations including best drama series and acting nods for stars Bob Odenkirk, Rhea Seehorn, Giancarlo Esposito and Carol Burnett.

Other series with multiple nominations included “Gaslit” (Starz), “Reservation Dogs” (FX), and “The Good Fight” (Paramount+), tied with four nominations each.  This year the CCA categorized “The White Lotus” as a drama series, with leading star Jennifer Coolidge nominated for drama supporting actress. Other notable mentions include posthumous nods for Leslie Jordan (“Call Me Kat”), Ray Liotta (“Black Bird”) and Norm Macdonald (“Norm Macdonald: Nothing Special”)

Nominations for the Critics Choice Awards film categories will be announced on December 14 at 9 a.m. PT.  The 28th Annual Critics Choice Awards ceremony will take  place Sunday, Jan. 15, 2023 at the Fairmont Century Plaza hotel. The CW will broadcast the ceremony at 7 pm. ET.

Editorial credit: Gil C /

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes:

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>